Avinash Dixit and Joseph Stiglitz revolutionized the modelling of imperfectly competitive markets and launched "the second monopolistic competition revolution". Experts in the areas of macroeconomics, international trade theory, economic geography, and international growth theory examine the success of the second revolution in this collection of papers. They reveal what appears to be "missing" and look forward to the next step in the modelling of imperfectly competitive markets. The text includes a comprehensive survey of the two monopolistic competition revolutions, and previously unpublished working papers by Dixit and Stiglitz that led to their famous 1977 paper. Contributors: Steven Brakman, Ben J. Heijdra, Joseph E. Stiglitz, Avinash K. Dixit, Wilfred J. Ethier, J. Peter Neary, Joseph Francois, Douglas Nelson, Richard E. Baldwin, Rikard Forslid, Philippe Martin, Gianmarco I. P. Ottaviano, Frederic Robert-Nicoud, Jolanda J. W. Peeters, Harry Garretsen, Charles van Marrewijk, Marc Schramm, J. Vernon Henderson, Sjak Smulders, Theo van de Klundert, Henri L. F. de Groot, Marjan W. Hofkes, Peter Mulder, Russell W. Cooper, Jan Boone, Christian Keuschnigg, Leon J. H. Bettendorf.

, , ,
Cambridge University Press
Erasmus School of Economics

Bettendorf, L., & Heijdra, B. (2003). The monopolistic competition revolution in retrospect. Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/1765/10902