The Lomé Conventions (1975–2000) and the ‘Cotonou Agreement’ (2000–2020) are the international legal instruments that set out the scope, content, form, and terms for international development cooperation between the European Community/Union (‘EC/EU’) and (at present 78) → developing countries in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Pacific, also referred to as the ACP States. [...]

Arts, K. (2018). Lomé/Cotonou Conventions. In Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Retrieved from