Cancers arising from the haematopoietic and lymphoid tissue comprise a heterogeneous group of malignancies with diverse clinical and biological features. The World Health Organization (WHO) classification of Haematopoietic and Lymphoid tissue, classified these cancers based on histologic characteristics. Lymphoid neoplasms are divided into precursor, mature indolent B-cell, mature aggressive B-cell, mature T- and NK-cell, plasma cell, and Hodgkin lymphoma. Myeloid neoplasms are divided into myeloproliferative, myelodysplastic, myeloproliferative/myelodysplastic neoplasms, acute myeloid leukaemia, and other acute leukaemias. Furthermore, a group of histiocytic and dendritic cell neoplasms is specified. All mature B-cell neoplasms (minus plasma cell neoplasm) and all Tand NK-cell neoplasms together are called non-Hodgkin lymphomas (NHL).

, , , , , , ,
J.W.W. Coebergh (Jan Willem)
Erasmus University Rotterdam
KWF Kankerbestrijding, Europese Unie, Beunke Fonds (IKZ)
Erasmus MC: University Medical Center Rotterdam

van de Schans, S.A.M. (2010, October 28). Progress against non-Hodgkin lymphoma in the Netherlands: Incidence, patterns of care and prognosis since 1989 (Studies with cancer registry data). Erasmus University Rotterdam. Retrieved from