The Subcommittee on Antifungal Susceptibility Testing (AFST) of the ESCMID European Committee for Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (EUCAST) has determined breakpoints for isavuconazole and Aspergillus and for itraconazole and Candida spp., released a new document summarizing existing and new minimum inhibitory concentration ranges for quality control strains and revised the method documents for yeast and mould susceptibility testing. This technical note is based on the EUCAST isavuconazole and itraconazole rationale documents, version 1.0 of the routine and extended internal quality control for antifungal susceptibility testing as recommended by EUCAST, and the E.Def 7.3, E.Def 9.2 and E.Def 9.3 method documents (

, , , ,,
Clinical Microbiology and Infection
Department of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases

Arendrup, M.C, Meletiadis, J, Mouton, J.W, Guinea, J, Cuenca-Estrella, M, Lagrou, K, & Howard, S. (2016). EUCAST technical note on isavuconazole breakpoints for Aspergillus, itraconazole breakpoints for Candida and updates for the antifungal susceptibility testing method documents. Clinical Microbiology and Infection, 22(6), 571.e1–571.e4. doi:10.1016/j.cmi.2016.01.017